The Bat by Jo Nesbø

This book is the first in the Harry Hole series. It was published in Norway in 1997, but only now has been translated into English. There are ten books in the series; I make it a rule to begin with the first book in a series.

So, I haven’t read the other books; I don’t know that I will. I read some reviews on Goodreads and Amazon that conceded that this was not that good a book, but that the later ones were much better. That may be, but I’m going to have to wait to find out – too many other books to read right now.

I can compare this book to the first book in the Kurt Wallander series or the Amos Walker series or another half dozen series, mystery and not, that I have read. In those cases, I couldn’t wait to get hold of the next book, and the next one, etc. That’s not my experience here. I just couldn’t “bond” with Harry. I just didn’t see where Nesbø was going with the character. As to the plot, I kept thinking the book was over and couldn’t understand what could be in the pages left.

I will give this series the benefit of the doubt, though, and read one or two more. If other reviewers can assure me that the books get better, then I’ll give Harry Hole a chance. However, I can’t recommend this specific book.

Of course, I did finish the book. Is this like the diner telling the waitperson the meal wasn’t any good after he has eaten it all? Hope not.

Leave a comment

Filed under Mystery

Leave a Reply

