Speaking from Among the Bones: A Flavia de Luce Novel by Alan Bradley

I love Flavia de Luce. I would adopt her, but I’m afraid she’s too smart for me. For an eleven-year-old, Flavia is too clever, too resourceful, and too head-strong. As her own father says, she is a genius. And Alan Bradley is a genius for creating her.

 I feel so fortunate to have been able to get this from NetGalley. I have a terrible confession to make – I couldn’t put my Kindle down, so I took it with me to a Texas Camerata concert of Italian Baroque music. I love the music and have the highest respect for the Texas Camerata. However, one does read while listening to music, doesn’t one? So, during a couple of the sonatas, I pulled out my Kindle to follow Flavia’s adventures. I’m afraid I had to stifle a few guffaws; I sincerely hope I didn’t disturb anyone.

 I enjoyed this book more than any of the others in the series since the first one, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. The plot seemed more concise, more taut, somehow. It is the five-hundredth anniversary of St. Tancred’s death, and Bishop’s Lacey’s church personnel is preparing to open its patron saint’s tomb. Flavia (like Jessica Fletcher) always seems to be in the right place at the wrong time. Thanks to her, the excavators find a body in the tomb. On the way to the solution, Flavia (and we) learn more about her father – an old friend of his is introduced (he happens to be a detective) – and about her mother. The book closes with a truly dramatic cliff-hanger; I can’t wait until the next book which, according to Flavia’s website http://www.flaviadeluce.com/seeds-of-antiquity/ , is titled The Dead In Their Vaulted Arches and is due inearly 2014. Sigh.

  In the meantime, if you have been unfortunate enough to have missed this series, the other Flavia de Luce novels are The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag, A Red Herring Without Mustard, and I Am Half-Sick of Shadows.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Mystery

Leave a Reply

