Sam Cruz’s Infallible Guide to Getting Girls by Tellulah Darling

OK, I admit it, I’m getting too old for this kind of YA book. Sam is a high school senior? How many times has he repeated 12th grade? Because he acts like he is in his mid-20s, at least.

Even Tellulah Darling’s website says that this is for older YA’s. I agree, in their 20s.

Sex, sex, sex. As I’ve asked elsewhere, when do these kids have time to go to school, do homework, finish research papers? All they do is party, use their parents’ credit cards to buy inappropriate clothes (does the school have a dress code?), and have sex. Not having sex is much more life-threatening than not passing a test, apparently.

And the language. Please, one should be able to express oneself without four-letter words. At least, we used to be able to. If you can’t think of another way to say “pissed off,” get a thesaurus. I hear you can get one built in with Word.

When these kids have done it all before they graduate from high school, what do they have to look forward to?

As I said, I’m too old for this book; maybe I’m just too old. I’ve started thinking that that is what young folks want – for us post-war baby boomers to hurry up and die off, we’re such buzzkills.

Leave a comment

Filed under Literary Genres, Young Adult Literature

Leave a Reply

